How do you know?…and other thoughts…

Standard

Delight yourself also in the LORD,  And He shall give you the desires of your heart.~Psalm 37:4

I know this verse to be true, in fact I have experienced it. I can pinpoint precious moments in time from my life where I stop and praise Him for so graciously granting me what I have been praying for, what my heart desired. But those were instances where His desires and my desires happened to line up. I am sure there were many more whispers uttered and cries pleaded to the Lord asking for blessings that were never bestowed. Yet I will praise Him for not granting those prayers as well, for it is God and only God that can possibly know what is best for my life.

Such easy words to speak, yet so difficult to put into action. What if that which you are longing and yearning for now seems like something that would line up with His will for your life, but the answer never comes? Every tick of the clock irritates and reminds you that your answer is not coming, or maybe that is your answer, the waiting? The waiting is meant to refine and change, not irritate and frustrate. But the feelings creep in, the sadness and worry…this very scenario is dear to my heart right now,at this very moment, consuming my thoughts and burning in my soul. I think and I long for this “thing”, and then reality sets in. This “thing” that I long so desperately for now, is not happening because of choices, choices that I made when I took the wheel from the Lord and said “move over, I am driving now…” He tried to give me this “thing” before, and I said “Not now Lord…it’s not a good time.”

I am humbled now and constantly on my knees in awe of my Savior and His love for me. Despite my pushing away, He keeps drawing me close, pursuing me. I yet again ask for forgiveness for thinking that I could be so independent from His will for my life. He is all powerful and certainly, nothing is out of His reach or too broken that He cannot fix. He gently whispers to me, “be still, and know that I am God…” ~Psalm 46:10. And now…I lay it at His feet and walk away…


About learninginthejourney

My family and I are on a wonderful and crazy adventure and we wouldn't change a thing! I am a mommy to two ever-so-dramatic children who I treasure dearly. I am so very blessed that I have a husband who sacrifices daily serving in the U.S. Army so I can stay home with my kiddos. I get to homeschool, work from home as well as do online school for myself from home...thanks to my amazing husband!

Leave a comment